My Favourite Three Experiences in Colombia

I have told you all a lot about different things you can do, unique foods you can eat, and even cool places you can visit in Colombia throughout my posts. Today, though, I want to share with you three experiences I have had during my time in Colombia that have left a mark on me that may encourage you to seek out similar experiences during your time in Colombia.

Sunset-in-Poportin-L

Sunset in Poportín

One of my most favourite experiences has been exploring near virgin environments. Colombia is a country that, luckily, is still full of unexplored or little-explored areas where you are still able to really connect with the nature and identity of a place. One of the more virgin places I have been able to explore that really impacted me is a remote beach in la Guajira called Poportín. I went to the beach because a friend of mine who is from a nearby city, Uribia, said it was her favourite beach and offered an incredible sunset experience. We arrived to the beach around five in the afternoon, and there was no trace of anyone or anything other than the flora and fauna that naturally occurs in the area. You immediately felt that you had stepped into a very special setting where modernity and the stress of present-day life have yet to made their presence felt.

Fresh-coffee-fruit-being-wa

Fresh coffee fruit being washed at la Victoria

Another one of my favourite experiences was going to a coffee farm. I know that this may seem a little cheesy, but I had lived in Colombia for a cumulative total of over 3 years and had not been to a coffee farm; it was something I had wanted to do for a long time, and I was finally able make it happen a few months ago during a short weekend trip to the mountain town of Minca in the department of Magdalena. Several co-workers had told me about the coffee farm and had recommended going, so I did. It´s an old coffee farm called la Victoria that originally was founded by a German family who brought their machinery from Europe. It´s an eco-friendly, organic coffee farm that is hydro-powered. When I went, I happened to be extremely lucky as it was harvesting season and was able to not only taste the coffee fruit and learn why it´s not consumed by itself but I was also able to see the coffee in every step of the process it must go through before it reaches your breakfast mug. While cheesy, it´s an experience I am truly happy to have been able to have in this coffee-filled country.

Carnival-performer

Carnival performer

One more experience I most thoroughly enjoy is an on-going experience—the Carnival of Barranquilla. Living in Barranquilla, you are given a very unique opportunity to fully live and participate in every aspect of the second largest Carnival celebration in the world. While some people get tired of Carnival after a few years, I have to say I have only grown fonder of this amazing celebration of history, culture, music, and diversity. If you haven´t lived through a Carnival, it´s difficult to understand the sensations and emotions that you are overtaken with during the Carnival season. It´s something very different from any other experience I´ve had, and one I look forward to having again soon.

Happy traveling adventures,

Paige

 About the author:

“Paige M. Poole is an Alabamian and traveler at heart who has settled, for now, in Barranquilla, Colombia, and earns her living as an English professor at the Instituto de Idiomas (Language Institute) at la Universidad del Norte (University of the North). When not teaching English, she enjoys blogging, traveling, relaxing on the beach, and spending time with her partner and two cats, Milo and Sophie. You can see more of Paige’s traveling experiences in her personal blog

http://www.trotamunda.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

