Uncover Colombia Interview: A 180 degree change in perception

Having recently returned from Colombia to his native Holland, Sander has kindly accepted our invitation to answer the now traditional questions in our monthly Uncover Colombia interview.

As with previous guest interviews we have not changed or censored any aspects of the interviewee’s views. We want readers to get a fair picture of the great and the not-so-good that make a trip to Colombia. Our intention is to present first-hand accounts from fellow travelers that have actually been to Colombia and hopefully, contribute to re-shape the stereotypes that are still so prevalent around the world with regards to our Country.

We would like to thank Sander for taking the time to answer our questions and we hope you find his views useful.

As usual, the comments box at the bottom of this page is all yours and we look forward to reading your feedback.

——

Tell us something about yourself (Where are you from? who you are and/or what you do?)

Hi, my name is Sander and I am from the Netherlands, 27 years old and living in Voorburg. I am working as a Project Financial Administrator at an Engineering company.

Salento's Central Square - Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

Salento’s Central Square – Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

Why did you decide to visit Colombia?

It was a difficult choice after going five times to Ecuador. It was about time to explore other parts of South America. The main reason to choose Colombia was because my friends in Ecuador told me that Colombia has so much diversity to offer, and the people are even friendlier.

What sort of things did you like?

Colombian people are really helpful and will do that with a smile. I liked the chaos, the landscapes and off course the music.

Salento, Colombia - Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

Salento, Colombia – Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

What didn’t you like?

That my camera was stolen only some days before I left to home, but that can happen in any big city. I have the imagines and experience close in my memory.

What was your favourite experience?

Definitely I would say Salento, but Colombia in general was a big success. I have had a great time in Medellin and Tayrona.

Salento, Colombia - Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

Salento, Colombia – Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

Did you have any problems, finding accommodation, transport, food, etc.

No, there was enough to choose. I really love fish and went to a Colombian market in Cartagena.

Which other countries did you visit besides Colombia and How does Colombia compare with these countries?

I have only been to Ecuador. I would say that there is more diversity in Colombia. And it is safer in Colombia.

Which image did you have about Colombia before going there?

Five years ago I was not even considering going there but I am glad I changed my mind and was open to choose Colombia.

Did this image change after your trip?

Yeah it changed a lot. In fact, 180 degrees. Before going I was still a bit cautious but it’s a special country in the world.

Tayrona Natural National Park, Colombia - Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

Tayrona Natural National Park, Colombia – Image Copyright Uncover Colombia 2012

Would you like to come back?

Yes, there is still a lot to see for me. I would like to go more to the South, North and the Pacific.

What would you recommend to someone considering Colombia as a destination?

Don’t be scared of the stories and experience the beauty of the country yourself. Just go for it.

2 thoughts on “Uncover Colombia Interview: A 180 degree change in perception

  1. Pingback: Uncover Colombia Interview: Paige, a life as an Expat in Colombia | Travel, Discover, Experience

  2. Pingback: Uncover Colombia Interview: Clare and Glen | Travel, Discover, Experience

Leave a Reply

